Killer 7 box points to porn site
Who reads the back of the box? Well, someone has. That someone is Baron, a NeoGAF poster who reports that his GameCube Killer 7 box clearly displays the address: www.killer7.com (pictured). This is a porn site. Oops ... typo?Note: one poster reports that his PAL box displays "www.killer-7.com," which is the appropriate address for Capcom's game.





Get a WordPress.com Blog





Reader Comments (Page 1 of 1)
Bridget Burdine @ Oct 26th 2006 10:09PM
Ha Ha, thats a pretty ackward typo. They should get that fixed sooner or later.
Stu L Tissimus @ Oct 25th 2006 9:35PM
Let me be the first to say: XD
ZaBlanc @ Oct 25th 2006 9:35PM
Hmmm, and guess which site is more interesting...
moominsean @ Oct 29th 2006 9:25PM
i smell a jack thompson lawsuit...
rraaAAAWWWWWWRRRRrrrrrr @ Oct 25th 2006 9:42PM
just checked and my box has it too. i've had this game for over a year now. hard to believe it took this long to get noticed.
Iced_Eagle @ Oct 25th 2006 9:44PM
It's viral marketing for their next game!!1111
[/sarcasm]
draco @ Oct 25th 2006 9:44PM
does referring to a porn site on your box contradict your ERSB rating?
wonder if somehting like the hot coffee will arise from this. wonder if the site changed to a porn site when they noticed higher trafic due to the game?
Eih'Beir @ Oct 25th 2006 9:51PM
Wow, Capcom's best game ever!
32_Footsteps @ Oct 25th 2006 9:52PM
Among other things, I guess this shows how much anyone paid attention to Killer 7.
I wouldn't worry about a Hot Coffee situation, though. This is just a typo, and the in-game content is exactly as advertised on the box. It's really no different than when the phone company started giving out 555 phone numbers, which meant that a toll-free 555 number that appeared in an episode of Tiny Toon Adventures directed to a real-life phone sex line. Embarrassing, but not a damning event.
Psaakyrn @ Oct 25th 2006 9:56PM
to those who wants to think of the children (or make jokes on said material):
Killer 7 is already rated mature. If kids are affected, it's NOT Capcom's or ESRB's fault. So stop whining.
draco @ Oct 25th 2006 9:58PM
wait... your telling me there [i]ARE[/i] 555 numbers somewhere?
see you learn something new every day.
Sponge @ Oct 29th 2006 9:14AM
Not all numbers that begin with 555 are fictional—for example, 1-area code-555-1212 is one of the standard numbers for directory assistance throughout the United States and Canada. In fact, only 555-0100 through 555-0199 are now specifically reserved for fictional use, with the other numbers having been released for actual assignment.
From Wikipedia
ZeldaX @ Oct 25th 2006 10:11PM
so typically in scenarios like these, people get fired the next day or within a second? ouch I think I just heard the fired gun go off =(
Imadogg @ Oct 25th 2006 10:20PM
I'm sure half the people who read this post visited http://killer7.com just now... I won't though, I'm scared of "Pics of Interracial Gangbang Movies Fu*king Hard" :o
Super-Jesse-Mario @ Oct 25th 2006 10:21PM
I think the site is related to the game:
The text they have posted there is just as confusing as Killer-7's storyline :P
idioteraser @ Oct 25th 2006 10:23PM
Actually this is more the case of the site domain ownership expiring and the porn site buying it up from Capcom.
It happens all the time. Numerous websites say from which a movie DVD links have on occasion been found after a year or two to be host to a porn site. The movie company then buys up the domain again.
Just contact capcom.
Nasty ass porn sites that used to spam people hit every website domain host to see when a website is up for grabs. They then grab it and put porn on it.
chenry @ Oct 25th 2006 10:27PM
ha hah, awesome.
Tarmanydyn @ Oct 25th 2006 10:28PM
Hey! Thanks for the credit!
Tarmanydyn @ Oct 25th 2006 10:29PM
...
Chiablo @ Oct 25th 2006 11:06PM
After going to that site... I REAAAALY want to play Killer7 now!
Judd @ Oct 25th 2006 11:37PM
Not only do you give me dozens of gaming news a day, you show me a new porn site to check out. Joystiq, you're the best site ever!
Like Psaakyrn pointed out the games already rated M. It's interesting how you need to enter your age to enter killer-7.com but not killer7.com It would be funny if somebody decided to name a porn site marioparty8.com
Maybe the porn site never heard of Killer 7, but if they did it wouldn't be anything new. I remember when the Internet first got big in the 90's one of the first porn sites picked up was whitehouse.com(doesn't exist anymore.)The sad thing is sometimes sites use a name that would often be tried, to exploit a cause. For example, martinlutherking.org Google bombed to make them the first site that shows up in a search for "martin luther king." Martinlutherking.org is a neo-nazi site.
The ZeroCorpse @ Oct 25th 2006 11:43PM
Let us just hope Nintendo never, ever makes a game called "Lemon Party."
Seroth @ Oct 25th 2006 11:46PM
I remember Zelda.com used to be a porn site, but that domain wasn't advertised by Nintendo until they took it.
Brandon @ Oct 26th 2006 12:16AM
Hm, I'm trying to quit porn, but if the site was based on the idea of seven alter egos... how could I resist?
OK, I could easily resist, the implications are beyond disgusting.
suicide @ Oct 26th 2006 1:35AM
See here: http://www.mobygames.com/game/killer7/cover-art
FireResurrected @ Oct 26th 2006 2:54AM
You do realize that you have provided a weblink to a website not suitable for minors on this blog that many minor read.
Good job.
FSK405K @ Oct 26th 2006 2:04AM
Good idea. Here's to octets performing messy Italian sausage antics on marioparty8.com!
OTAM @ Oct 26th 2006 2:11AM
Porn,sweet find!
*fap fap fap*
reppy @ Oct 26th 2006 5:35PM
If the owner of Killer7.com, the server, or the registrar is based in the US then they are required to place a warning screen before subjecting you to any explicit content.
Vasil @ Oct 26th 2006 4:37AM
Please! Think of the children! Dirty words no no! :(
kevinski @ Oct 26th 2006 5:50AM
Regarding the former state of Zelda.com...
http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.zelda.com/
Greg2k @ Oct 26th 2006 7:16AM
SEGA made a similar cockup with the European packaging for Sonic Adventure DX (Gamecube and PC versions). The box points to www.sonix-dx.com, instead of www.sonic-dx.com.
Fortunately, the misspelled site doesn't take you to porn.
Martin @ Oct 26th 2006 7:25AM
The last job I worked at, our shredding boxes for paper had a number to call to get pick up. I called it and it was some girl trying to pick me up for 5.99 a minute. She kept asking for my credit card information though!
Dave Smith @ Oct 26th 2006 8:59AM
Well jeepers, no one seems to be complaining about the big 'ol hooters I see on Joystiq's main page today, now are they? Yes indeed, my pals at Adult Friend Finder has seen fit to show me the hooters of a few lovely young ladies ... let's see, there's 'cuteface4u', there's 'hello_girls_2'... and look! they live just down the street! Wow! this is great! Joystiq may be a little teeny weenie bit hypocritical here, wouldn't you say? Don't get me wrong, hooters are just fine with me, but to run a story about a gamebox typo while missing the amazing melons of fun bouncing around the site just makes me think maybe somebody's asleep at the wheel. Not that I'm complaining! Bring on the hotties! Hooters galore! Hotters ahead matey's! Arrr!
Martin @ Oct 26th 2006 9:30AM
Dave Smith, if you are seriously seeing ads to those sites when you visit Joystiq, you really need to clean up your computer, because you have some Spyware/adware issues. Visiting too many of those sites aren't you!?
OtakuCODE @ Oct 26th 2006 10:41AM
Reporting this story is nothing but factual. Joystiq isn't calling for the game to be pulled from shelves or anything ridiculous like that. Of course they link to the site, it is newsworthy. I did not click on it because I am at work and common sense tells me there is going to be objectionable content that might get my ass canned. Any minor would know the same objectionable content would be found by clicking. If they click it, whatever protection from pictures of naked people the parents have employed will kick in. If there is no such protection for whatever reason, the kid is just going to see some naked people. No harm done.
srw985 @ Oct 26th 2006 12:03PM
How many people reading this will type in www.killer7.com to "test this out"?
Halladay @ Oct 26th 2006 1:03PM
As been said, the domain expired in August I believe. Capcom didn't bother renewing it, so some Porn site spammer snatched it up. There was no boxart misprint, just a case of forgetful Capcom website staffers.
allenhsmilden @ Oct 26th 2006 8:30PM
Hey everyone looks like post 14 is correct. All that happened is the domain expired. Use provided link to see www.killer7.com on feb 6th 2005 and you will see the game site. Looks like capcom didn't mess up after all.
http://web.archive.org/web/20050206230718/http://killer7.com/