| Mail |
You might also like: WoW Insider, Massively, and more

Reader Comments (29)

Posted: May 17th 2008 11:38AM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
woo! i sent that lol

in other news my account is safe and im waiting 5-10 days for a refund
Reply

Posted: May 17th 2008 5:53PM notmichaelcera said

  • 3 hearts
  • Report
wow only an idiot would fall for this
Reply

Posted: May 17th 2008 8:48PM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Not something to be proud of...
Reply

Posted: May 17th 2008 8:49PM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
lol i guess it isnt, oh well
Reply

Posted: May 17th 2008 9:41PM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Ray; I know you got scammed B4, But I gots da hook up!! Send me ALL your credit card #'s (DONT FOR GET THE SECURITY CODEZ) and I will 150% ****** you will get like, a millllion pointz!!!
Reply

Posted: Jun 11th 2008 2:39AM notmichaelcera said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
lol
Reply

Posted: May 18th 2008 10:14AM Knight Marquise said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Proof positive that adults need to have their genes analyized for the "stupidity factor", and if found, be sterilized.

Then these retarded stories of morons being scammed would stop appearing across the ineternet.
Reply

Posted: May 17th 2008 11:43AM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Must of been a big enough scam to get blogged about.
Also I remember people requesting account details in exchange for doing the GOW seriously glitch or getting Halo skulls etc. but the guys would just run up a bill and steal your account. :(
Reply

Posted: May 17th 2008 11:49AM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
when you enter your info it automatically sends a message to all your friends telling about the site. so id imagine this could be spreading like a wild fire. sadly 4 of my friends fell into trap so that could be another 400 who got the message.

the message is something like "m2af this site is giving away free ms points blah blah blah *insert site url*"
Reply

Posted: May 17th 2008 12:26PM Sinnix said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
It's also important to note that if you HAVE been caught in this scam you need to tell your credit card company immediately and change you Live ID password ASAP.
Reply

Posted: May 17th 2008 1:15PM RMM said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Seriously... who even falls for these scams anymore?
Reply

Posted: May 17th 2008 1:25PM TheBlahMasta said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Umm..Apparently a lot of people if A) it's been blogged about; and B) There are people out there that are doing the scams. If no one was falling for the scams, they wouldn't be made because there would be no point, and they, in the end, would be at a loss with money.
Reply

Posted: May 17th 2008 1:30PM Jakey777 said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
I did once but it was a Windows Live scam and I purposely used my other account.
Reply

Posted: May 17th 2008 1:39PM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
I know MS phishing filter works pretty good. As soon as I went to a site that look like Xbox.com the filter kicked in and I left in a hurry. Some people must be pretty desperate for some MS points.
Reply

Posted: May 17th 2008 1:35PM KingJD said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Yeah two of my friends on my list fell for this scam. they got a message from someone on their friends list telling them about the site and went to sign up.
It was the time when the COD maps were coming out so they thought they would get the maps for free.

one got his gamertag changed to Xyougotjacked2X and both lost access to their .net accounts because the password and secret question were changed.

After calling and having MS investigate they lost their accounts. MS states their policy is to cancel out the accounts and refund any points and time left on service to a new gamertag.
I think they were both given a 1 year subscription as well.
Reply

Posted: May 17th 2008 1:47PM geeksunny said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Anyone dumb enough to get caught in these scams don't deserve any sympathy. Seriously.
Reply

Posted: May 17th 2008 2:43PM RMM said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Yeah, I agree... and that's pretty much what I was getting at with my earlier comment. Especially in this day and age when we know so much about all this.
Reply

Posted: May 17th 2008 2:13PM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
I got a message from an XBL friend advertising this site: --URL DELETED-- I thought i'd check it out and immediately realised it was just a scam. I then decided to enter fake details and entered 'Nice Try' in the password field to annoy the potential scammer. =)
Reply

Posted: May 17th 2008 2:51PM nizzy1115 said

  • 3 hearts
  • Report
You are so original...
Reply

Posted: May 17th 2008 7:12PM Outinthedark said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
An admin should drop this and ban the IP...
Reply

Posted: May 17th 2008 7:10PM Outinthedark said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
I had a guy today tell me I knew him from his other account "Dead Shell" which is in fact my other account. He asked about my General achievement "glitch" and asked if I could help.

I replied that the account was mine not his. After a few replies from him saying he's going to hack my account blah blah blah. Douchebags...geeze...he stopped messaging me after about a dozen messages.

Just watch out for people offering "Free MS points" never follow a link and especially never enter your .net info on a site that is not https://
Reply

Posted: May 17th 2008 9:28PM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
What's the phone number to ask an MS rep to remove your credit card info from your account?
Reply

Posted: Jun 3rd 2008 6:47PM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
1800-4myxbox
(1800-469-9269)
Reply

Posted: May 18th 2008 2:53AM notmichaelcera said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
lol
Reply

Posted: May 18th 2008 12:29PM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Once I bought 5000ms points at Circuit City on Phoenix, and they were scratched and used :/.
Reply

Posted: May 18th 2008 4:43PM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Xbox users do......yeah we're pretty dumb!
Reply

Posted: May 19th 2008 8:10AM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Duh.
Reply

Posted: May 22nd 2008 6:56PM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
ok seriously, how can people be so blind to the fact that they are falling into scams, if its always being reported due to millions of people falling into it
Reply

Posted: Jun 3rd 2008 6:50PM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Haha wow. Why hasn't anyone reported this?!
This article was posted back on MAY 17th!!
I did a quick whois search, found the host of this website and reported it.

It took 2 minutes.

I was shocked that nobody has done that yet.
Anyways, the guy at customer service said that it was definetly a phishing website and he will take, "necessary action" to take the website down.

Stupid phishing websites.

Also, I'd like to add that for everyone that fell for this, keep this in mind: "If it seems to good to be true, then it probably is". Next time, don't give out your information to ANYONE to an account that has a credit card linked to it.
Reply
Sorry, you must be logged in to leave a comment.

Featured Stories

WRUP: All the Reckoning

Posted on Feb 10th 2012 11:45PM

Xbox Live Indie Gems: Nyan Cat Adventure

Posted on Feb 10th 2012 10:15PM

Engadget

TUAW

Massively

WoW