| Mail |
You might also like: WoW Insider, Massively, and more

Reader Comments (23)

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 10:05AM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Why didn't you link it to this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mNLuq0lW50k
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 10:13AM (Unverified) said

  • 3 hearts
  • Report
I just got this and it was legit. The game hasn't appeared in my account yet but the Nigerian assured me it will be soon.
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 10:34AM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
haha, love it!
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 12:01PM Nigeria said

  • 3 hearts
  • Report
You cut me deep, you cut me real deep just now.
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 12:33PM LaughingTarget said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
You sure it's a Nigerian prince? If it's just some random Nigerian and not a member of the royal family, you got scammed. Ask for a picture. If he doesn't look like Eddie Murphy in a fast food uniform, change your password immediately!
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 10:15AM MarkHawk said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
This isn't the first time this has happened. You guys ran an article about a month to 6 weeks ago on this right?
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 10:21AM Courtney said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Can you post a pic of the email? Would love to see how close it is to the real thing.
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 10:37AM Dave Hinkle said

  • 2.5 hearts
  • Report
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 10:49AM Courtney said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Thanks! That does in fact look really legit. It seems that the quality of phishing emails has really gone up in the last couple of years.
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 10:57AM Zertoss said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
That does look legit. This is why it's important to always check the links in any email you receive, especially if it's something like this that you weren't expecting or seems too good to be true.

Thanks for the heads up, Joystiq.
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 11:25AM Dave Hinkle said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Yeah, it looks really good, although hovering over the second link (game activation) shows the true URL, which leads to the third party site in question.
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 10:30AM RyogaVee said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
IT'S A TRAP!
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 11:07AM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 10:55AM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
The part about "if you're new to Steam" and needing to install the Steam Client first sends up a big red warning flag in my mind. If I wasn't part of Steam, and didn't even have the Client installed yet, how would Valve know who I was to "gift" me?
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 11:21AM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
You're right. I didn't really think of that. Then again, if I got that email I would just log on to steam to see if it was in my list, cause you know... that is how gifting works in steam.
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 11:34AM Zertoss said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
I thought you could gift people with just an email address.

*Googles* Yes, apparently you can, and if they don't have a Steam account, they can click the link in the email to make one.

https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=6262-QXCN-0755
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 12:57PM (Unverified) said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Zertoss

Yes, you can gift someone as long as you have an email address.


My point was, if I wasn't already a Steam member, how would they have my email address in the first place? This wasn't a "gift" from a friend of mine, it was a "gift" that was supposedly from Valve.
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 2:08PM Zertoss said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Ah, I see what you're saying. I guess I misunderstood your first post.
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 10:56AM darkinchworm said

  • 3 hearts
  • Report
Nigerian scammers and Far Cry 2 are both based in Africa.

Coincidence? I think not.
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 11:32AM GenBanks said

  • 3 hearts
  • Report
I bet you there will be some unfortunate person who happens to be gifted Far Cry 2 for real today, but deletes and and blocks the email assuming it's the scam :p
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 2:30PM ScottG13 said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
Just buy it. Its awesome.
Reply

Posted: Feb 20th 2009 4:36PM MrHashbrown said

  • 2 hearts
  • Report
It's TOTALLY Jack Thompson seeking vengeance for his disbarment. Duh.
Reply
Sorry, you must be logged in to leave a comment.

Featured Stories

Engadget

TUAW

Massively

WoW